The North Island, New Zealand

A long way from home

Here is the last and long overdue chapter of my 2009 trip around the world.  In less than 2 weeks I set out again on a new adventure through Asia. I hope you enjoy revisiting some wonderful places with me in this blog and that you will come along on my next adventure.  Itinerary to follow. 

December 26, 2009 I headed by bus for Napier, a small city that was destroyed by fire in 1931 and rebuilt solely in the art deco style.  It sets on a strip of beach facing the South Pacific Ocean.  The main street along the sea front is called Marine Parade and on that street, looking out at the water, is the YHA where I am staying for 3 nights.  Photos  The days are warm and without wind and it is the weekend after Christmas.  Everyone is out and the holiday spirit fills the air.  Napier is located in a lovely wine reason and so I booked a tour, with tasting of course, through the countryside and vineyards.  A few photos.   

 TRAVEL FEET:  My feet have been in the same walking sandals for 3 months and my heels are rough and ragged. During a discussion over dinner I learned that I could find pumice on the beach, I had my doubts, but in less than 5 minutes I found my first piece among the millions of small gray pebbles line the shore.  I was so excited that I continued my pursuit until some 30 minutes later I had five light gray pillows of pumice.  I sat down on the beach and took off my sandals and started rubbing away at my heels with the pumice.  This is a big undertaking, one treatment will not finish the job, but I have the tools and I will keep at it until my feet are lovely and soft once again. 

 From Napier I headed for the land of natives, volcanoes, and lakes.  I chose to stay in Taupo where, with the holidays, accommodations were full except for one bed in a 4 bed dorm room at a rustic hostel. A peak at Hosteling. I am getting quite used to hosteling and like the surprises that you find when you open the door of your new digs.  Taupo was no exception and in this tiny room with the width of the bathroom door between the 2 sets of bunk beds I found 3 enchanting young women traveling together from Argentina. With their packs arranged across the end of the room at the foot of the beds, there was only one place for me to go….into the upper bunk, luggage and all.  They were happy to know that I knew their country well and could even converse with them a bit in Spanish.  Altogether, a delightful experience.  Photos of Taupo

Coast near Tourango, NZ

And now I had to decide where I would spend New Years.  Not a very happy prospect when you are traveling alone.  And so I chose Tourango.  A small city with nice beaches and hiking only a short bus ride away.  The hostel in Tourango had lovely gardens, but was a long walk from the bus and getting lost with my luggage in tow did not help my energy on my arrival.  Undaunted, off I went to discover Tourango.  Photos

 The day after an uneventful New Years eve, I headed for Wahi Beach where I would again stay with a SERVAS family.  Grant and Helen picked me up from the bus stop and told me that they were leaving in 5 minutes for a 10k fun run down the beach to raise money to save the Sand Dunes.  Of course, I dropped everything and off we went.  I didn’t set any records in my sandals, but what a delightful group of people I met.  This was, and still is, one of my favorite travel experiences.  See some photos.   

 

A new kind of adventure aboard the Magic Bus

A new kind of adventure aboard the Magic Bus

The far north of New Zealand is hard to travel without a car and so I headed for Auckland, a few photos,  where I would hook-up with The Magic Bus.  to travel all the way to the furthest point north, Cape Reinga, where I would plant a tree in honor of my father. I have a certificate and can actually go on Goggle Earth and see how it is progressing. This entire area, including a ride on the sand down Ninety Mile Beach, was an especially relaxing time for me. Photos  I made friends with a young Brit named Andrew and we decided to do a side trip the Hokiange Harbour, the oldest Maori settlement in New Zealand,  for 2 nights, where we would make a trip into the forest at night to see the oldest (4,000 years old) and the largest (2000 years old) Kauri trees on the planet.  We were led by Maori people who performed their rituals of tribute to these ancient trees with respect for their wisdom and strength.  Very powerful.  Some photos. 

 And now it is time to return to Auckland and prepare for my trip home.  In Auckland I am privileged to stay with another wonderful SERVAS host who woke very early to take me all the way to the airport.  It is January 11, 2010 and I am home again.     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment